Profile

The Austrian Institute for SME Research was founded in 1954 and is an independent non-university research institute in the field of economics and social sciences. Small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) constitute a core research area. The Institute is a private, non-profit association, which provides analyses and data on recent and future topics to facilitate economic policy making and business decisions. The research results of the Austrian Institute for SME Research address policy makers, advocacy groups, advisory bodies, and other research institutions at regional, national and international levels, as well as company managers and the interested public in general. The findings should contribute to a positive development of the Austrian and European economy and society.

The Institute has a team of highly qualified staff members and can build on more than 60 years of experience and continuity. Many years of expertise, objectivity, interdisciplinarity, a variety of methods, compliance with scientific standards, cooperation with national and international research institutions and integration in central (inter-)national research networks are key quality features of the Austrian Institute for SME Research and ensure that the research results of the Institute draw upon the state of the art in all fields of study. The Institute’s fields of Expertise include: entrepreneurship and innovation, economic sectors and industries, regional analyses, labour market and skills, evaluations and impact analyses as well as balance sheet ratios and benchmarking.

Our Principles

Scientific excellence and independence: The Austrian Institute for SME Research is committed to scientific integrity. Objectivity, variety of methods and compliance with scientific standards are the basis of the Institute’s research activities. An essential prerequisite for this is the Institute’s independence from particular interests.

Interdisciplinarity and internationality: Internal knowledge transfer, cooperation with national and international research institutions and integration in central (inter-)national research networks are key quality features for the Austrian Institute for SME Research and ensure that the Institute’s research results can be linked to the state of the art in all fields of expertise.

Practice orientation: Based on carefully prepared analyses, the research activities of the Austrian Institute for SME Research show a high degree of practice orientation. The research results are presented in a way that meets the users’ information needs. The evidence-based policy recommendations are as specific as possible.

Personal responsibility and equal opportunities: The Austrian Institute for SME Research relies on a highly qualified team. Openness, equal opportunities and a high degree of self-determination and personal responsibility guide HR policy and research activities. The continuous development of the team’s skills and abilities is of central importance.

Team

Andres Armenta Tobon

IT System Manager
a.armenta@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 5059761-30

Karin Bachinger

Senior Researcher
k.bachinger@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 505 97 61-57

Andrea Dorr

Researcher
a.dorr@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 5059761-52

Christina Enichlmair

Senior Researcher
c.enichlmair@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 5059761-35

Mariella Frisch

Research Assistant
m.frisch@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 505 97 61 - 38

Cornelia Fürst

Researcher
c.fuerst@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 5059761-47

Karin Gavac

Senior Researcher
k.gavac@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 5059761-28

Eva Heckl

Senior Researcher
e.heckl@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 5059761-36

Daniela Hosner

Researcher
d.hosner@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 5059761-48

Joachim Kaufmann

Researcher
j.kaufmann@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 5059761-17

Peter Kaufmann

Deputy Director
p.kaufmann@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 5059761-31

Anja Marcher

Researcher
a.marcher@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 505 97 61 – 49

Florian Mayer

Research Assistant
f.mayer@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 505 97 61 - 25

Monika Mlynek

Research Assistant
m.mlynek@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 5059761-26

Herbert Neubauer

President
herbert.neubauer@wu.ac.at
+43 664/2104742

Elisabeth Nindl

Researcher
e.nindl@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 5059761-27

Thomas Oberholzner

Director
t.oberholzner@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 5059761-15
Mobile: +43 664 8228562

Karin Petzlberger

Senior Researcher
k.petzlberger@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 5059761-46

Petra Pichler

Office and Project Administration
p.pichler@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 505 97 61 – 11

Arash Robubi

Senior Researcher
a.robubi@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 5059761-32

Desiree Schiehser

Research Assistant
d.schiehser@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 5059761-38

Florian Schmidt

IT-Assistent
f.schmidt@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 505 97 61 - 71

Wolfgang Ziniel

Senior Researcher
w.ziniel@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 5059761-29

Tatjana Zlatev

Researcher
t.zlatev@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 505 97 61 - 37

Julia Zwanzinger

Assistant Business Administration and Organization
j.zwanzinger@kmuforschung.ac.at
+43 1 505 97 61 – 24

Scientific Advisory Board

Professor Birgit Feldbauer- Durstmüller (deputy chair)
Professor Isabella Hatak
Professor Martin Hiebl
Professor Norbert Kailer
Irene Mandl
Professor Christine Mitter
Professor Roald Steiner
Professor Friederike Welter (chair)

Supervisory Board

Kurt J. Miesenböck
Professor Herbert Neubauer (chair)
Gudrun Schindler
Sabine Siegl (deputy chair)

Member of